Can you out run a car? Well, more than 35,000 runners tried last year and two did. 

Comporta, Portugal

Comporta, Portugal

How do you fancy racing against runners in Austria or Australia, Poland or Peru, Croatia or Canada, all in real time on the same day? The Wings for Life run takes place simultaneously on 3rd May in 35 different countries around the world, at exactly the same time; so the starting pistol fires at 4am in California, 8am in Brazil, 12pm in the UK, 4.30pm in India, 7pm in Taiwan and 9pm in Australia.

The objective is simple – 30 minutes after the race starts, ‘catcher cars’ set off at 15kph in pursuit of the runners, they then speed up until they have overtaken all the runners. There’s no set distance, but the last female and male athlete to be caught by the cars will be awarded the title of global Wings for Life World Run champions.

Last year 35,397 runners took part across the globe, and the Ethiopian runner Lemawork Ketema was crowned champion, having run 48.83 miles (78.58km) before being caught by the chaser car, while the Norwegian Elise Molvik won the women’s event with a distance of 34 miles (54.8km).

All proceeds go directly to the Wings for Life foundation, which works to raise awareness and money to find a cure for spinal cord injury.

More info: The UK’s Wings for Life run takes place at Silverstone, Northamptonshire, wingsforlifeworldrun.com

Assen, Netherlands

Assen, Netherlands

Barcelona, Spain

Barcelona, Spain

Auckland, New Zealand

Auckland, New Zealand

Busselton, Australia

Busselton, Australia

California, USA

California, USA

Cancun, Mexico

Cancun, Mexico

Cape Town, South Africa

Cape Town, South Africa

Co. Kerry, Ireland

Co. Kerry, Ireland

Florida, USA

Florida, USA

Hennebont, France

Hennebont, France

Lima, Peru

Lima, Peru

Let us know if you’re taking part on May 3rd by emailing of.ed@kelsey.co.uk or giving us a shout on Facebook or Twitter @OutdoorFitmag1

You can also browse our other event listings here.